How I cook a steak

I generally get called to the grill to cook steaks at family functions.  I have to admit I do enjoy it.  Doing a steak correctly is something I am proud of.  I am going to talk about how I prepare and cook steaks.  There are two parts; the marinade and the grilling.

Marinade:
Ideally you want your steaks to marinate for 12-24 hours but if you are rushed then as much time as you can give it.  The marinating technique comes from church BBQs my Dad would help put on.  We would apply this technique across over 100 steaks.  It was a lot of meat.  You will need the following ingredients.  This is broken down on a per-steak level:

2tsp Meat tenderizer
4tsp Garlic powder (NOT GALRIC SALT!)
2tsp Ground pepper
4tbp Red wine

Sprinkle side ‘A’ of the steak with the tenderizer, garlic powder and pepper.  You do not have to stick to exactly the measurements I have listed.  If you like more garlic or pepper go right ahead and add it.  Also, adjust the tenderizer based on how long you have to marinate the meat.  The long the marinating time the less tenderizer you need.  This measurement would be for a 4-8 hour marinade.  I don’t recomend using salt in a marinade.  It can dry out the meat.

Using 2 forks prick the entire side of the steak.  Use one fork to hold the meat and the other to stab it all over.  This helps inject the spices into the meat, tenderize the meat, and draw in more marinade.  Repeat both of these steps on side ‘B’

After you have pricked and seasoned the steak, place it in a study zip-lock bag.  Pour the wine into the bag.  Without spilling the wine, try to remove as much air as possible from the bag before you seal it.  Set the bag in the fridge ‘B’ side down.  Make sure to flip the steak a few times while it marinates.

Grilling:
I like to grill my steaks to a medium-rare so that is what I am going to share with you.  Turn your BBQ high and let it heat up for about 5-10 minutes.  Scrap the grill using a BBQ brush.  Normally you don’t need to grease the grill for steaks but it is a useful trick for chicken or fish.  Take a paper towel, fold it over a few times and dip it in some oil (I use olive oil).  Being very careful not to burn yourself, wipe the grill with the oil.  After you have prepared the grill, close the lid and let it heat up again for a few minutes.

Theses cooking times are for steaks that are about an inch or so thick.  You will have to adjust slightly for thicker or thinner steaks.  I cook my steaks for 2-3 minutes per turn on high heat.  That means I cook them like this:  Put the steaks on the grill for 2-3 minutes.  Turn the steaks 45 degrees and cook for 2-3 minutes.  Flip the steaks over and cook for 2-3 minutes.  Turn the steaks 45 degrees and cook for 2-3 minutes.  If you are going to apply BBQ sauce, do it as soon as you put the steaks on the grill and once again after the flip.

Once you have the meat off the grill set it aside, cover it with tin-foil and let it rest for about 2-3 minutes.  This helps seal in the juices.

So that is how I cook a steak.  Give it a try next time you fire up the grill.  Please let me know how it goes.  I am always looking for feedback.

 

3 Responses

  1. You said “prick”, that was funny. And yes you can grill a good steak.

  2. […] on how I prepare and cook steaks.  You can cook them as your normally do or check out the article here.  Once your steak has rested, cut it into thin strips and set […]

  3. […]  For more information on how to turn your meat on the BBQ, see my post on how to cook a steak here.  When you first put the chops on the grill brush with some of the marinate.  Brush again after […]

Leave a Reply

