Fermented Sauerkraut Batch #001

While technically my 3 attempt at Sauerkraut this is the first one I am logging. I blitzed an approx. 6 lb cabbage in the food processesor and added one medium onion (just basic yellow, might do red next time for fun). I added 3 tablespoons of salt and worked out the water. They went into jars on Aug 19th with a few peppercorns. The jars are left open with just a coffee filter on top to keep junk out. Big thanks to David J for teaching me how to do this.

I pulled what I am calling Jar A on Aug 25th. There is some good ‘tang’ to it and the cabbage has a nice firm texture. The plan is pull the others at 2 or 3 day intervals to see how I like it going longer. I shall update as I go.

Side note from pervious batches. When I keep it simple like this it worked great. I tried a batch with garlic and hot peppers (thinking it would be cool to have spicy kraut) and it did not work out. Got some weird off flavors. I don’t think it went bad but just didn’t taste the way I wanted it.

Leave a comment